Oproep naar aanleiding van aanslag op Parijse burgemeester
16 oktober 2002

Op zaterdag 5 oktober 2002 werd er een aanslag gepleegd op de homoseksuele burgemeester van Parijs, Bertrand DelanoŽ. Hieronder treft u het bericht aan dat ik met andere politici vandaag heb verspreid.
Appeal by Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Transgender Politicians
“We are not going back into hiding again” 

We undersigned are openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender politicians with various political and ideological backgrounds. We have another thing in common too. 
We condemn all violence against people and especially the unequivocal attack on Bertrand DelanoŽ, Lord Mayor of Paris of last weekend, requires a clear and loud protest against violence against all people that originates from homophobia. In more and more countries the times have been changing and gay and lesbians do not have to hide anymore their sexual orientation. The lesbian and gay movements have had to come a long way before one could come out without any fear for contempt, discrimination and violence. This made it also possible for us, lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender politicians from many countries, to work in parliaments and governments without the fear for libel, blackmail and other mischief. And we are not going back into hiding again. 
In more and more countries we politicians of various political and ideological background have come out. We appeal to those our colleagues who still hesitate, to join us and make clear to the homophobes in the world that we will not yield and at we will fight with all possible allies against contempt, hatred, discrimination and violence. 

Joke Swiebel. MEP PvdA (NL), chair of the intergroup lesbian and gay rights in the EP
Michael Cashman MEP Labour (UK)
Joop Wijn, Minister for Foreign Trade, The Netherlands
Hein Verkerk, Press speaker for the Dutch Greens in the EP

co signed by 

Clemens Cornielje, member Second Chamber of Dutch Parliament, VVD 
Hon. Chris Carter MP, Minister of Conservation, Minister of Local Government, Minister for Ethnic Affairs, for New Zealand 
Hon. Chris Smith MP, Member of Parliament for Islington South and 
Finsbury, UK - and former Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport 
Torben Lund, MEP Denmark PES 
Ulrike Lunacek (Austria), MP Green Party, Vice-Chairperson Foreign Affairs Committee of the Austrian Parliament 
Fjodor Molenaar, delegation leader GroenLinks Amsterdam-Centrum 
Mathieu Heemelaar, delegation leader GroenLinks Westerpark 
Volker Beck, MdB, Green Party Germany, Parlamentarian Director of the Parlamentary Group Federation 90/The Greens 
Franco Gillini, MP Italy, Honorary President of Italian Gay Association Arcigay 
Christophe Girard, France, maire adjoint de Paris en charge de la Culture 
Gianni Vattimo, MEP 
Cllr. Darren Johnson, UK, Leader of the Greens in the London Assembly 
Anne Lize van der Stoel, voorzitter van stadsdeel Centrum in Amsterdam 
Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Transgender politicians who want to adhere to this appeal may send their adherence to hverkerk@europarl.eu.int 
The names of those who adhere will be published on this website. 
The appeal is distributed to the international media and via LGTB mailing lists on the internet.